About us

How I fell in love with the rain forest

We slept in wooden huts, showered with rainwater, heard the voices of nature. And suddenly it was there again. The feeling of freedom and satisfaction. A world where values count, that I experienced as a child. Far away from consumption, career and materialism. I was back where I came from. And yet I was not the same anymore.

"Albana, why did you quit your job as a top manager to sell acai berries from the rainforest?" A question I have been asked not once since the Rainforest Company was founded. I admit: my undertaking was reckless. Unbelievable for many and certainly unconventional. But for me it was the most important step of my life. Maybe you know this feeling. If there is this one turning point that challenges everything I've done so far. There is no going back. Because what you are planning gives your life a new meaning - and in my case even gives thousands of people a better future.

I grew up in Kosovo, in a small village called Botushë. At my grandparents' house, surrounded by animals, I showered outside and slept with my cousins in wooden huts. My parents came to Switzerland in the seventies as guest workers. We didn't have warm water and money, but unconditional love, cohesion and endless nature. In retrospect, I consider these years the most beautiful of my childhood. But as a teenager I longed for independence and contrast.

In a world marked by consumption and fast money, I started my financial career in Switzerland. By my late twenties, I had made the leap to the managerial level and held my own in a strongly male-dominated industry. This gave me self-confidence, courage and above all financial independence. I was proud of what I had achieved. But in the evening I lay in bed and wondered about the true meaning of what I was doing. Is it really? Is there more?

I was to find the answer in 2015, after I boarded a plane to the Amazon. The plan was an adventure holiday at the survival camp. But the journey itself turned out to be the beginning of the probably biggest adventure of my life. Together with my friend and afterwards co-founder, Jan Philipp Sasse, we got to know the farmers of today's Acai plantations. They took us to the harvest at dawn and taught us everything about their acai business. We slept in wooden huts, showered with rainwater, heard the voices of nature. And suddenly it was there again. The feeling of freedom and satisfaction. A world where values count, that I experienced as a child. Far away from consumption, career and materialism. I was back where I came from. And yet I was not the same anymore.

I founded The Rainforest Company to protect the rainforest: a magical place with its breathtaking wildlife, its plant diversity, which protects our climate and gives a home to wonderful people. With their unique knowledge and thousands of years of experience they keep the Amazon alive. The Rainforest Company provides these farmers with a secure and fair income so that they can send their children to school. Only by working hand in hand can we win the battle against climate change.

THE AMAZONAS IS THE LUNG OF OUR EARTH

Our mission

This is the team

Albana Rama

CEO & founder

Alessia Schulkowski

Assistant to the CEO

Pamela Grabarek

Product Manager

Rachana Gopidesi

CSR manager

Eliza Grabarek

public relations manager

Yasemin Altinok

social media management

Poon Jeevarat

graphic designer

Marzieh Amirkhani

accounting manager

Isabella Dutz

Working student accounting

Thomas Stief

logistics support

Maren Scholz

Dual student of logistics

Willy Noffke

Working student logistics

Manuele Candura

Business Development Manager

Über Uns

Wie ich mich in den Regenwald verliebte

Wir schliefen in Holzhütten, duschten mit Regenwasser, hörten die Stimmen der Natur. Und auf einmal war es wieder da. Das Gefühl von Freiheit und Zufriedenheit. Eine Welt, in der Werte zählen, die ich als Kind erlebte. Fernab von Konsum, Karriere und Materialismus. Ich war zurück, wo ich herkam. Und doch war ich nicht mehr dieselbe.

“Albana, warum hast du den Job als Top-Managerin geschmissen, um Acai-Beeren aus dem Regenwald zu verkaufen?” Eine Frage, die mir seit der Gründung der Rainforest Company GmbH nicht nur einmal gestellt wurde. Ich gebe zu: mein Vorhaben war waghalsig. Für viele unglaublich und mit Sicherheit unkonventionell. Doch für mich der wichtigste Schritt meines Lebens. Vielleicht kennt ihr dieses Gefühl. Wenn es diesen einen Wendepunkt gibt, der alles bisherige in Frage stellt. Ein Zurück geht nicht mehr. Denn das was ihr plant, gibt eurem Leben einen neuen Sinn - und ermöglicht in meinem Fall sogar Tausenden Menschen eine bessere Zukunft.  

Ich bin im Kosovo aufgewachsen, in einem kleinen Dorf namens Botushë. Bei meinen Großeltern, umgeben von Tieren, duschte ich im Freien und schlief mit meinen Cousins in Holzhütten. Meine Eltern kamen in den Siebziger Jahren als Gastarbeiter in die Schweiz. Warmes Wasser und Geld hatten wir nicht, dafür bedingungslose Liebe, Zusammenhalt und endlose Natur. Im Nachhinein betrachte ich diese Jahre als die schönsten meiner Kindheit. Doch als Teenager sehnte ich mir nach Unabhängigkeit und Kontrast.

In einer Welt geprägt von Konsum und schnellem Geld startete ich meine Finanzkarriere in der Schweiz. Mit Ende Zwanzig hatte ich den Sprung auf die Manager-Ebene geschafft und behauptete mich in einer stark männerdominierten Branche. Das brachte mir Selbstbewusstsein, Mut und vor allem finanzielle Unabhängigkeit. Ich war stolz auf das, was ich erreicht hatte. Doch abends lag ich im Bett und fragte mich nach dem wahren Sinn meines Tuns. Ist es das wirklich? Ist da noch mehr?

Die Antwort sollte ich im Jahr 2015 finden, nachdem ich in den Flieger zum Amazonas stieg. Geplant war ein Abenteuer-Urlaub im Survival Camp. Doch die Reise selbst entpuppte sich als der Beginn des wohl größten Abenteuer meines Lebens. Gemeinsam mit meinem Freund und anschließend Co-Founder, Jan Philipp Sasse, lernten wie die Farmer unserer heutigen Acai-Plantagen kennen. Sie nahmen uns im dämmernden Morgengrauen auf die Ernte mit und lehrten uns alles über ihr Acai-Business. Wir schliefen in Holzhütten, duschten mit Regenwasser, hörten die Stimmen der Natur. Und auf einmal war es wieder da. Das Gefühl von Freiheit und Zufriedenheit. Eine Welt, in der Werte zählen, die ich als Kind erlebte. Fernab von Konsum, Karriere und Materialismus. Ich war zurück, wo ich herkam. Und doch war ich nicht mehr dieselbe.

Ich habe The Rainforest Company gegründet, um den Regenwald zu schützen: ein magischer Ort mitsamt seiner atemberaubenden Tierwelt, seiner Pflanzenvielfalt, der unser Klima schützt und wunderbaren Menschen, ein zuhause schenkt. Mit ihrem einzigartigen Wissen und jahrtausendealten Erfahrungsschatz erhalten sie den Amazonas am Leben. The Rainforest Company ermöglicht diesen Bauern ein sicheres und faires Einkommen, so dass sie ihre Kinder zur Schule schicken können. Nur wenn wir Hand in Hand arbeiten, können wir den Kampf gegen den Klimawandel gewinnen.

DER AMAZONAS IST DIE LUNGE UNSERER ERDE

Unsere Mission

Das ist das Team

Albana Rama

CEO and Founder

Alessia Schulkowski

Personal Assistant to the CEO

Pamela Grabarek

Product Manager

Rachana Gopidesi

Social Responsibility Manager

Eliza Grabarek

Press Relations

Yasemin Altinok

Social Media Manager

Poon Jeevarat

Creative Design

Marzieh Amirkhani

Accountant

Isabella Dutz

Student Trainee Accounting

Thomas Stief

Logistic Support

Maren Scholz

Dual Studium Student

Willy Noffke

Student Trainee Logistic

Manuele Candura

Business Development Manager